Home Local Oyo Lawmakers Set To Impeach Makinde’s Deputy, Olaniyan

Oyo Lawmakers Set To Impeach Makinde’s Deputy, Olaniyan


Wednesday June 15, 2022

The lawmakers of the Oyo State House of Assembly are set to impeached Engr. Rauf Olaniyan, the Deputy Governor to Governor Seyi Makinde.

All the lawmakers except for Hon. Ayawo Oyebunmi who is from his constituency, assented the impeachment process.

According to the petition, the lawmakers allegations against the Deputy Governor include include Gross misconduct, abuse of office, financial recklessness, abandonment of office and official duty and insubordination and other offences.

Only lawmakers, journalists and house officials were allowed into the hallowed Chamber to witness the plenary.

Reacting after the petition was read by the Clerk of the House, Yetunde Awe, the Speaker of the House, Adebo Ogundoyin said the petition meets the two-third requirements to initiate the process.

He added that the House would give the Deputy Governor a seven day grace period to respond to the allegations, adding that failure to do so can lead to the commencement of impeachment move.

The seven days window of response takes immediate effect and to lapse on Wednesday June 22.
The petition was signed by the PDP lawmakers.
The petition entitled “Petition And Notice of Allegations of the Deputy Governor of Oyo State, His Excellency Engineer Rauf Olaniyan” reads in parts”Consequent upon listed below, we the under listed elected Honourable members of the 9th assembly hereby allege the Deputy Governor of Oyo State, His Excellency Eng. Rauf Olaniyan with the following allegations:
“Gross misconduct
“Abuse of office
“Financial recklessness
“Abandonment of office,official duty
“Insubordination and other offences.

“This is in accordance to the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended in 2011. Section 188.”
The lawmakers and constituencies that signed the petition include: Fadeyi Muhammed (Ona Ara), Onaolapo Sanjo (Ogbomosho South), Babalola Olasunkanmi (Egbeda), Adebisi Yussuf (Ibadan Southwest 1), Okedoyin Julius (Saki West) and Adebayo Babajide (Ibadan North 2).

Others are Kehinde Olatunde (Akinyele 2), Olajide Akintunde (Lagelu), Mustapha Akeem (Kajola), Popoola Ademola (Ibadan South East 2), Owolabi Olusola (Ibadan North East 2), Olagoke Olamide (Ibadan North East 1), Olayanji Kazeem (Irepo/Olorunsogo), Ojedokun Peter (Ibarapa North/Centre).

Others are Gbadamosi Saminu (Saki East/Atisbo), Mabaje Adekunle (Iddo), Oluwafowokanmi Oluwafemi (Ibadan Southwest 2), Akeem Adedibu (Iwajowa), Fatokun Ayo (Akinyele 1), Rasak Ademola (Ibadan South East 1), Obadara Akeem (Ibadan North West), Oyekunle Fola (Ibadan North 1), Adetunji Francis (Oluyole).

The House thereafter adjourned till tomorrow, June 16.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here