Home News BREAKING: Makinde Re-Elected As Oyo Governor With 563,756 Votes, INEC Declares

BREAKING: Makinde Re-Elected As Oyo Governor With 563,756 Votes, INEC Declares


..ogun INEC announces Dapo Abiodun as elected governor

Sunday March 19, 2023

The incumbent governor of Oyo State, Engr ‘Seyi Makinde, has been re-elected as governor of the state for the next four years.

Announcing the result on Sunday, the State Returning Officer, Prof Adedayo Bamire, said governor Seyi Makinde, the governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) won the election with 563,756 votes.

The governor also cleared the majority of the local government areas out of the announced by the state’s Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday.

The state has 3,276,675 registered voters according to INEC.

The governor contested against a three-term Senator, Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC), and former Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Chief Adebayo Adelabu of Accord, among other contestants.

After the elections, results were announced at polling units, after which they were collated and announced at wards. From the ward collation centres, the results were further collated for each of the local governments across the state and finally at the state collation centre.

Teslim comes a distant second in the governorship race ahead of Adebayo Adelabu of the Accord Party.

Previous articleLagos Guber Poll: BCOS Reporter, Cameraman Attacked By Political Thugs
Next articleInvestigate Attack On Our Member, Others, BCOS NUJ Charges Lagos State Government, Police


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here