Home Local FG Seeks Cooperation for Effective Border Policing... Aiyedatiwa, Lawal, others attends summit

FG Seeks Cooperation for Effective Border Policing.
.. Aiyedatiwa, Lawal, others attends summit


Thursday October 13, 2022

Ondo State Deputy Governor, Hon Lucky Aiyedatiwa joined his other colleagues for A-One-day Workshop on the Establishment of National Consultative Forum for Chairmen of State Boundary Committee of Border States in Nigeria and Borders Management Agencies of the federal Government.

The educative workshop Themed : ” Converting Borders from Barriers of Separation to Bridges of Cooperation and Regional Integration” was held at Hawthorn Suites, Area 11 , Garki Abuja on Wednesday.

In his brief remarks, Aiyedatiwa called for genuine conversations especially ones that sees maximum cooperation and development amongst those living and working along the borderlines.

He also called on the committee to work harder and faster to deliver on its mandates as those on the borderlines are waiting for a new and impactful deliberations after the workshop.

Meanwhile, the Federal Government has urged cooperation of Communities across the long stretch of the expansive territorial borders for effective policing.

The Director General of the National Boundary Commission ( NBC ), Mr Adamu Adaji in his address at the Workshop said, Nigeria has about 4500Km land border and around 850Km stretch of maritime borders.

“It is a fact that providing effective policing across the long stretch of the expansive territorial borders would require not only the commitment of the combined security operatives but also support of the border communities” , he said.

Other speakers at the impressive event talked on the need for harmonious border relationship amongst border communities.

Other members of the committee at the event are, Deputy Governor of Oyo State, Barr Abdul Raheem Adebayo Lawal, Deputy Governor of Zamfara State, Hassan Nasiha, Deputy Governor of Taraba State, Engr Haruna Manu, Deputy Governor of Adamawa State, Hon Crowther Seth, Deputy Governor of Yobe State, Idi Barde Gubana, Deputy Governor of Ogun State, Engr Noimot Salako-Oyedele, Deputy Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Moses Frank Ekpo, Deputy Governor of Niger State, Alhaji Mohammed Ahmed Ketso, Deputy Governor of Sokoto State, Manor Dan’iya and Deputy Governor of Cross River State, Prof Ivara Ejemot Esu.

Others are Ondo State Commissioner of Budget and Economic Planning, Pastor Emmanuel Igbasan, Press Secretary to Governor (Office of Deputy Governor), Kenneth Odusola-Stevenson, Secretary, Ondo State Boundary Commission, Surv.Idowu Owolabi and others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here